Our 6 Lakes are located in the Leech Lake River Watershed District. Watershed districts are local, special-purpose units of government that work to solve and prevent water-related problems. The boundaries of each district follow those of a natural watershed and consist of land in which all water flows to one outlet.  The districts are usually named after that watershed.

Read about the comprehensive water plan for our watershed.